Sun, 03 Dec 2023

JERUSALEM, Sept. 19 (Xinhua) -- EuroCup side Hapoel Tel Aviv on Tuesday won the 2023 Tel Aviv Winner Tournament title after beating Champions League side Hapoel Jerusalem 89-87 in the all-Israeli final at the Shlomo Group Arena.

The first 20 minutes were extremely close, with the score tied at 26-26 in the first quarter and 46-46 at halftime.

With 2.3 seconds left in the third quarter, J'Covan Brown hit a three-pointer and added another point from the line to give Tel Aviv a 71-70 lead ahead of the decisive quarter.

Jaylen Hoard and Xavier Munford helped Tel Aviv take an 80-72 lead in the 34th minute, but a contribution by Khadeen Carrington put Jerusalem back in the game.

A steal by Hoard, with seven seconds to the final buzzer, secured the title for Tel Aviv.

Brown led the Tel Aviv scorers with 20 points, while Munford added another 17. Yovel Zoosman scored 13 points for Jerusalem.

Earlier in the third-place game, between two Champions League teams, Italy's Dinamo Sassari beat Greece's Promitheas Patras 90-89 thanks to two successful free throws by Filip Kruslin.

Stephane Gombauld scored 17 points for Sassari, while his teammate Kaspar Treier added 16 more. Anthony Cowan scored a game-high 22 points for Promitheas.

More Greece News

Access More

Sign up for Greece News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!